Sunday, April 4, 2010

What are the "Eight Precepts"?

Eight training rules are observed by lay Buddhists during periods of intensive meditation practice and during lunar observance days. The Eight Precepts are based on the Five Precepts with a few changes. The third precept is extended to abstaining from all sexual activity (brahmacariya). And an additional three precepts are added that support meditation practice. The Eight Precepts are undertaken by voluntarily and temporarily stating, I undertake the precept to:
  1. refrain from destroying living creatures.
  2. refrain from taking what is not given.
  3. refrain from sexual activity.
  4. refrain from false speech.
  5. refrain from intoxicants that give rise to carelessness.
  6. refrain from eating at inappropriate times (past noon).
  7. refrain from lying on a high or luxurious sleeping place.

No comments: